Welcome to Coffee Flavored Ink. I am your host, Dwight Spencer, and I will be taking you on this fun-filled journey. ‘Taking’ isn’t quite right … because you have to be the one who reads along (or plays along) … so let’s just say I’m the guy behind the screen. Sort of like a Wizard of Oz without the smoke and mirrors. So who am I you ask? That question would be a lot easier to answer if I knew myself. All I can do is tell you what I do know.

I am first and foremost a father of two amazing boys. They are rocketing towards being adults (19 and 20 as of this writing) but so far they still need their dad from time to time. At least that is what I tell myself. Being a father has changed me in ways that I cannot even begin to describe. Let’s just say that I have loved every minute of it and will continue to do so.

Being a self-proclaimed connoisseur of anything cheeseburger, I fall happily into the burgerholic camp. I know there are more of you out there. Fess up! But before I go any farther, let me say that I would like to meet the guy that thought up putting pickles on a burger – AND PUNCH HIM RIGHT IN THE FACE! I hate pickles in general. Maybe one day I will tell you that story; but, for now sTGIF_Stacked-Burger-LRuffice it to say that I hate pickles on my burger. So the funny thing about being a burgerholic: I will go into any restaurant, no matter the type, and order a burger. If you can’t make a burger then I am sure your $100 steak is crap.

I have been writing for about the past 20 years or so. But mostly for myself. I kicked off a future writing career during NaNoWriMo 2015 with my first novel. It is not ready to even be revealed but from that time to now, I have realized I was put here on this blue globe to write. It is my passion, my desire, and the obsession that keeps me up at night. Since NaNo 2015, I have written many short stories, flash fiction, am working on a novella series … make that two novella series, and a poem or two thrown in for good measure. My plan is to become published by my 46th birthday (damn I’m old).

So that is a little about me. I am sure I will divulge more information as we head out on this journey. I feel compelled to add a disclaimer here about what I write. I am a horror/suspense writer first, a YA writer second. You may find scattered here and there a curse word or two … okay … or a hundred. I do not make apologies for how I talk or write. I will, however, try to keep it clean for certain topics.

Let the journey begin. Just put one foot in front of the other. After all, isn’t that what life is?

13 thoughts on “Hello and Welcome…

  1. A pleasure to meet another burger-enthusiast! I got to try a lot of interesting and bizarre burgers in Japan while I lived there, but there’s nothing quite like the N. American brand, is there? Something about the juice and cheese and slightly oily bun…. Man, now I’m hungry. Haha. I’m also glad I’m not the only pickle-hater. Granted, having different varieties (again in Japan) made me love daikon pickles, and I don’t mind pickle relish on hot dogs now, or in my tuna. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved your post, except for your anti-pickle stance. I once ate three pickles at the movies and went home and ate 4 more. I order my burgers with pickles and onions only, extra pickles. A pickle-less burger. Absurd! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your post. I look forward to reading the story behind ‘why’ you hate pickles. I also like you writing style. You kept me captured the whole way through. Well done. I look forward to reading more of your posts. ^_^

    Like

  4. So it seems we have the pickle lovers and the pickle haters! I am a pickle hater. I agree with you Dwight… pickles on a burger just ruin it.
    And, as a burger connoisseur myself, I can say that I am on a quest to perfect the perfect home made burger. I think I have found the right flavor combination… 50% ground chuck, 30% ground brisket, 20% ground veal! Slap some American cheese or cheddar on that 1/4 pound patty, put it on a toasted bun with mayo, ketchup, lettuce and tomato and you have yourself a burger made for a king. And if you really want to go crazy, toss a couple of strips of bacon on there… oh, to die for!
    Oh… and I just wanted to say that I love the title of your webpage. I’m not exactly sure what that means, but I’m sure we’ll find out in a future blog.

    Like

    1. @stevenguglich. Thank you for the kind words. And for making me hungry! That, good sir, sounds like an amazing burger. I would most definitely add the bacon. Try this out: put the cheese in the middle of two (yes, two) patties. Damn I’m really hungry now. Some day we will have to swap some recipes on our favorite food! As far as the name, well, it is a play on words. But you’re right, it will be in a latter post…so stay tuned.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds fantastic! I may need to put a disclaimer in my post saying that the shit people are fed at fast food places is nowhere near burger. I cannot stomach those places. Grilling out on the ranch under the stars…fantastic!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. If you ever pass through Montreal be sure to stop by Mr Steer. There may be Fancier Burgers but I’ve never tasted a better patty.
    Chef on call is great as well.
    I can talk all day about burgers

    Like

    1. If I had someone to pay me I would travel everywhere to eat burgers. Then we will have plenty of things to talk about 🙂 You know, after so many responses to the burger bit, I may just have to follow up a time or two.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

