I hate making generalities. And if this was one, I would be the first to call myself out. Sadly, it is not. That generality is this: everywhere I go … and I mean everywhere … this is what I see:

Phone1

This is a pretty well know picture but it speaks volumes. It has become the sad state of affairs for the young and old alike.

howmuchdopeopleusetheirmobilephones

Talk about the zombie Apocalypse. It is already here.

phone2

So here is the dare:

GET OFF YOUR FUCKING PHONE! I DOUBLE DOG DARE YOU! For one damn day.

Stop being like this EVERYWHERE you go.

am-having-people-over-lo-stare-at-their-phones-later-2033389

Talk to people with your mouth … not with your thumbs. Trust me, it will change your life.

phone3

I have a smartphone. I use it. I’m a writer, so there are many things I can do to make my productivity better and more efficient. But in the midst of friends, or spending time with my kids, or watching a movie with my fiance, I stay off of my phone. Emergencies happen, we know that. But for the love of all that is good in this world (which I have come to understand is very little) get off the phone. Go outside, look up, and take in the wonder this world has to offer. I dare you.

There is actually a word for this:

blog5-4

It means being on your phone while people are around. Snubbing them while on your phone. Brilliant!

Just try. Put the phone down and see what you’ve been missing … before it’s too late.

Leave a Reply

