I’ve been asked, as I’m sure many of you have too, why I write. It is not usually asked in a condescending tone but more of curiosity. And like many of you, I believe the answer changes from day to day … hell … minute to minute if you’re like me. But at the end of the day, it is what we know … what we love.

Here is the latest rendition:

Sometimes we over think simple concepts to the point where the mind gets muddled and confused. I did that with this question. It has always been a simple answer with me. Because we all have been asked that question before in our lives. Over time, my answer has evolved into somewhat of a mixture of abstract truths and sarcastic undertones. But the simple answer is: because I have to.

True, there is no one holding a gun to my head. That would be ludicrous.B2vyqOaIQAAlC_t But when there is an itch, you scratch it right? Writing, for me, is like an itch…an unquenchable thirst…a hunger that cannot be satisfied…a need that is never met. I have found great pleasure in creating beauty (that sounds loftier than it should) for others to enjoy. And when I am not writing, I am restless.

I also write because I have a bitch for a muse. For years, I was able to silence her and trick her into thinking I was busy when I wasn’t. Or I would outright ignore her. You see, in my mind, I can see her as clearly as you can see these words. She is beautiful, but boy can she be mean. When inspiration comes, and these days it is a floodgate, it is because I am listening to her soft whispers and loud tantrums. We have learned to coexist with our ideas and ramblings. Don’t think me crazy, well, try not to anyway. When we open ourselves up to that part of our mind that is primal in nature, fascinated by the beauty that surrounds us, and feel a strength I believe everyone has but few have tapped into; we begin a journey into art.

stephen-king-muse

I have tried to explain the euphoria before. How before I write there is a battle within … When I try to find anything else to do. Then writing happens. There is an inner piece, a sense of accomplishment, a feeling of … Well … Euphoria. I am learning to channel that feeling. I believe if I could grasp it before I write I will love it even more.

Do not misunderstand. There are times when I hate what I do. When I question myself with every push of a key or scribbled note as to why I keep going. Those are few and far between but they do happen. Weird, I know. I dismiss it as human nature. I don’t believe there is anything in this life we enjoy 100% of the time. Writing I love most of the time.

I love writing. It has kept me up at night, made me look like I talk to myself, isolated me from friends and family, ingest more coffee that any human should, and awaken me way before the alarm clock in order to scribble down a thought. But I would not change it for anything. I know I have a long way to go before I feel I have mastered this craft … if we ever do. But the journey is where the magic happens. This journey I love.

Drop me a line and tell me why you write. I would love to hear from you all.

5 thoughts on “Why I Write

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever been asked why I write. I’ve been asked why I went to college for it and what am I writing, which are also hard questions to answer. I’m not sure if I have an answer, I guess I haven’t really thought about it. Maybe that will be what I think about for the day. I love how you described why you write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

